Main Menu

AAR Front fender different from regular fender

Started by jlemler, May 24, 2017, 04:47:03 AM

Previous topic Next topic

jlemler

O.K. here goes the short story.  Back in the day before they were repoing 1970 Cuda fenders I made a choice.  At Carlisle many moons ago I purchase a very nice AAR front passenger fender.  I put the hole in it for the antenna a put it on my car.  It was expensive at the time but I had no choice and did what I did.  I have been driving around with the fender for many years.  Here is the question.  I want to put the wheel well trim on my car.  All the other openings are regular.  I believe the AAR front fender has a roll on it to accommodate bigger tires.  When I go to Carlisle I was thinking of getting the trim.  Will there be a problem putting the trim on the AAR front fender? 

Thanks,
Jeff

anlauto

AAR's never had "larger front tires" :alan2cents:

I doubt your fender is any different than any other fender.
I quick check of whether or not the lip is rolled will answer the question about mounting wheel lip moldings. Somebody could have rolled them back it the day.
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

fc7cuda

:iagree:

Even with the roll, I believe you can still install the trim.  :alan2cents:

61K T/A

Were there fender wheel openings made for 14 inch and 15 inch wheels?

jlemler

I believe the rolled fenders where defiantly standard on all Hemis.  I also thought somewhere along the line I remember it being standard on all TAs as well.  The point was to allow clearance for the front wheels when turning so they didn't rub.  Yes, it was to accommodate bigger tires.  I am however, far from an expert.  More like a little knowledge is a dangerous thing type of guy.

anlauto