Main Menu

DIY painting

Started by Yobie, November 17, 2018, 01:26:37 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Yobie

I'm starting my research as I will be trying my hand at painting my resor project.  Right now it's in primer from a previous owner but has been sitting outside for the last 10 years.

I will be stripping the car to bare metal and starting from scratch.  With that said I'm a little overwhelmed by the paint processes I'm being recommended.  I've painted before but it was body filler, primer and then base coat.  It seems now there is a few extra step.

Is what I have below correct and or what you would do for a 2 stage paint?

Bare metal, body filler, Epoxy primer, 2k urethane, base, clear.

For the engine bay can I just scuff up the old paint coat, degrease and go straight to base?

Cuda Cody

truckinman466

Epoxy first,then do your bodywork. I'm no pro but, I was told this before I started on my project. Body filler will hold moisture but if you primer first it will seal the metal

JS29

Quote from: truckinman466 on November 17, 2018, 05:23:16 PM
Epoxy first,then do your bodywork. I'm no pro but, I was told this before I started on my project. Body filler will hold moisture but if you primer first it will seal the metal
Yes that is true. Epoxy primer and some etch primers like Vera-prime made by Exalta, formerly known as Dupont.

1Burgfish

:wrenching: Epoxy Primer or etch primer, body work, primer filler, guide coat block sand repeat as necessary until glass smooth, then color coat and Clear coat, wet sand in different grade stages, then buff. Those are your basic stages in a nut shell.

wldgtx

Quote from: 1Burgfish on November 18, 2018, 11:08:29 AM
:wrenching: Epoxy Primer or etch primer, body work, primer filler, guide coat block sand repeat as necessary until glass smooth, then color coat and Clear coat, wet sand in different grade stages, then buff. Those are your basic stages in a nut shell.

I agree with you on 95% of this... but you left one out.