Main Menu

HVLP paint gun setting

Started by redgum78, October 28, 2018, 02:28:42 PM

Previous topic Next topic

redgum78

Any experts on HVLP paint guns?

I am not an expert spray painter but I have dabbled enough in the past and managed reasonable results.

I wanted to put a coat of yellow on my Challenger so I brought a new HVLP gun (always used conventional venturi guns in the past).

Well I got the yellow on but struggled with the gun settings. The only way I could get good flow out of the gun was by making the pattern very narrow.

I was painting a 2 pack polyurethane, 1.4mm nozzle in the gun.
The paint instructions recommended 10psi which was terrible. A quick google suggested 20-25psi which did work better.

I was telling my mate and he said he runs his HVLP gun at 65psi!

Any tips?

Thanks

Dan

Rich G.

They always say 10 psi at the cap which it NOT 10 psi going in the gun. You need a special cap gauge to measure that so don't go by that. I run around 40-50 psi.but that depends on a few things also. Always test the spray pattern on something first and adjust accordingly. They also recommend the HVLP fittings which are a little bigger. I'm sure others here a advice also but this works for me.

Cuda Cody

The fan pattern will also change the PSI of the gun and each gun model is different.  I run about 18 to 36 depending on the paint, temp and pattern I'm using.  Do practice spray outs.  :alan2cents:

1 Wild R/T

This is a cut & paste from the Auto Color Library painters forum.....  & is pretty much what I do.....  But I don't have the talent to actually paint....I paint stuff but leave the important stuff to people with more natural talent..... (I'm a klutz)  I'm great at fixing stuff, great at electrical/electronics but artistic stuff I long ago accepted isn't my forte....