Main Menu

Reproduction Front Fenders vs Original

Started by 71vert340, September 25, 2017, 08:29:59 PM

Previous topic Next topic

71vert340

I have an original pair of 70/71 front fenders (without notch) that I've been storing for over 30 years. Several years ago I asked the question of whether I should sell these original fenders and store a set of new repros. I was told the repros require several hours of work to be great and to keep my original ones. These original fenders are in really good shape. Have the repros improved in quality?
Terry

Shane Kelley

Yes they have gotten better. But still nowhere near as good as originals. One of the big downsides to the repops is the strength of the steel. They dent pretty easy compared to the originals. While they have gotten better with fitment they still require a lot of labor to look nice. I doubt you will ever see a repop with the quality of OEM.

pink aar

Original ALL DAY LONG. I bought  3 sets, before I found the ones I wanted. All 3 fit great, but it seems that the next set was better than the last set (damage or rust). Original will always fit better. I guess that's why these MOPARS cost so much.  I need a money sign here to post . MONEY AND MORE MONEY

MoparDave

Well. I would use the OEM fenders over replacement any day. Simply because you already have them and they haven't cost you much. New fenders if available as Shane pointed out will need work and cost about 1100 +/-. NONE of them are perfect. regardless of AMD DII Goodmark, Sherman Goldstar ect ect. in reality there are only 3 major stampers in Taiwan.  they all eventually share stock.
Please Email me at david.radcliffe@golling.com or through the the website. https://www.rosevillemoparts.com/contact-us/

Rich G.

I cut up a new AMD fender to repair my original one that's how bad they were for me.

Cuda Cody