Main Menu

This is why you should have subframe connectors...

Started by Tunis, August 14, 2017, 11:10:05 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Tunis

... even if it is not factory correct.

Skip forward to 18:14. Notice how nothing on the car is sitting still? Doors, quarters, deck lid, everything shakes.

I don't remember if they put subframe connectors on it, but they did add some stiffening to the front end.

Edit: Just watched the first episode again and they did put a level 2 US Car tools stiffening kit on it. So what does one have to do to get the chassis even stiffer?

Cuda70-74

That's probably due to the body being so stiff all that vibration and flexing has to go thru something. I'm no structural engineer but remember the sheet metal on these's cars are not that thick.
1969 mustang
1974 cuda turnt into a 71 cuda
1968 charger

TobiasM

Lots of things can be done in genreally to stiffen a car...strut brace front and rear, weld-in-cage, glueing sheetmetal, extra-spotwelds, glue-in rear/front window...just depends on how far you wanna take it.

Most common on Mopars for sure are subframe-connectors and torque-boxes.

I like that Fishtail-Cuda in that TV-show, but keep in mind that they also run tires with a very sticky tread and that are really wide...so getting these rear-tires spinning as at 18min14sec on the vid also causes much more stress to the cars body then getting to spin some stock 14" bias-ply tires with a width of a pizza-cutting wheel.   :alan2cents:

Tunis

I really like it as well. I just thought that all that flexing in the quarters were an effect of a non-stiff chassis. I realize that putting super sticky tires on these cars will break something, unless care is taken. I didn't realize it was an effect of too stiff chassis.

ViperMan

I wonder if they used polyurethane bushings for motor/trans/diff mounts?  Those things are nearly as hard as plastic, so they transfer a lot of the vibration from moving parts into the chassis.