Main Menu

Trying to remove '70 Barracuda gas tank

Started by Mopsquad, July 06, 2018, 09:13:54 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mopsquad

I'm a newbie to E Bodies.  I could use your experience on how to remove my gas tank. 

This is what I've attempted.  From the fuel neck to tank, I can access the strap bolts and studs. Started loosening from that opening, was able to lower the straps a bit but I started looking at removing the rear valance.  Easy? Don't know?  Did all the bolts and studs and it won't budge. Looked at removing the bumper. Two outside are accessible but now the two inner. 

Where do I go from here. I don't want to yank too hard and scratch, bend or break anything.  Just want to remove this tank.  Help.  😬

gzig5

On my 73 there were two bolts on either end tying into the quarters.  Then there were about six screws across the top edge, two were kind of hidden on each corner.  I don't think you should need to remove the bumper but it is an earlier model and may be different than mine.

1 Wild R/T

Bumper comes off after valance & it doesn't need to come off to remove the tank.... But the valance does.....    Hopefully it's either empty or close to it.... Disconnect the lines & wire first....

Mopsquad

I pulled off two hex head screws off the top edge of the valence.
Next I took two nuts off of the valence to quarter studs. Not sure if there is suppose to be studs here or simple 1/4" bolts. I have studs.
Next I removes two slightly hidden nuts (on studs again) on the top outside edge.

Am I missing any? 

Weird that there are threaded studs instead of bolts/ screws.

1 Wild R/T

Mopsquad

Quote from: 1 Wild R/T on July 06, 2018, 10:24:13 PM
Studs are correct...

Great! That's good.

Now how I see it,  the bumper needs to come off to remove the valence but, the valence needs to come off to remove the bumper.  Lol. I'm sure I'm not the only inexperienced e body newbie to think this.  ;)

I know, there must be a logical step here that I'm missing.