Main Menu

review: NitrOlympix (German pro dragracing 18-20th August 2017)

Started by TobiasM, August 27, 2017, 02:06:54 AM

Previous topic Next topic

TobiasM

Dear community,

here is a review of Germanys main event when it comes to dragracing sweetened with LOTS of photos you will hopefully enjoy.

The event is named NitrOlympix and took place on the weekend of 18-20th August at Hockenheim-Ring racetrack-areal which is famous for also hosting one of the two German Formula-1-tracks (the other one is Nürburg-Ring).

But Hockenheim-Ring is (to my knowledge) where the only permanent Dragrace-track is in Germany. It also has the worlds longest (?) runout/brakeing-zone, so technically it would be safe/possible for the TopFuelers to run the genuine full 1/4 mile, but due to complying with international dragracing-rules (FIA/NHRA) the TF`s run only the 1.000feet as anywhere else.

Lower classes though do run the full 1/4mile, but don`t nail me on the classes spec`s, as I am a novice when it comes to PROFESSIONAL dragracing. This was a pro event for  international FIA-championship for cars and bikes with competitors from Sweden, Norway, Great Britain, Netherlands, France, Germany and many more European countries.

The "slowest" car-class was the "pro ET" which still required a car being faster than 12.00 ET and the fastest car-class was the "TF dragster" running 4.5x ET`s and a top-speed of more than 450kph/280mph.

This was a 3-days-event, with a great night-show on Saturday (jet-dragster, stunt-drivers etc.) and I was there all weekend with a bunch of 2 dozen MOPAR-buddies. We were extremely lucky with the weather, cause it only rained when it didn`t harm. As this is the one and only such event in Germany, it was sold out completely...I didn`t expect that and was glad to see there is so many people interested in dragracing.