Main Menu

Welding question

Started by Mr Lee, May 24, 2020, 01:53:15 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mr Lee

I just bought a multi-process welder which will MIG and TIG weld.  I am a beginner welder. 

How should I fill in the little tiny pits in my bumper?

I tried filling them in with the TIG torch and some filler wire.  Well, this made the metal warp and sunken in ... Which left me worse off than before. 

How do I prevent this warpage?  How would you fill in these little pits? 

Pic shows the little pits in blue.  And the yellow arrow points to one I filled in which is now sunken in.   

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Remember, wherever you go, there you are.

GoodysGotaCuda

Quote from: Mr Lee on May 24, 2020, 01:53:15 PM
I just bought a multi-process welder which will MIG and TIG weld.  I am a beginner welder. 

How should I fill in the little tiny pits in my bumper?

I tried filling them in with the TIG torch and some filler wire.  Well, this made the metal warp and sunken in ... Which left me worse off than before. 

How do I prevent this warpage?  How would you fill in these little pits? 

Pic shows the little pits in blue.  And the yellow arrow points to one I filled in which is now sunken in.   

You can touch it off with a MIG, depending on what you plan on doing with the bumper, lead or body filler may be a reasonable alternative.
1972 Barracuda - 5.7L Hemi/T56 Magnum
2020 RAM 1500 - 5.7L

My Wheel and Tire Specs

cuda hunter

If it's going to be chromed it can't be body filler.
"All riches begin as a state of mind and you have complete control of your mind"  -- B. Lee

Mr Lee

Yeah i want to chrome it.  I was also thinking about the lead.  I've never worked with it before but think that would probably do a nice job. 

I tried using the MIG also but im getting warpage. 
Its better to have the volts high and do a short quick shot than it is to have a lower temp and hold it there longer, yes?