Main Menu

340 upgrade for performance

Started by Bartman, August 02, 2017, 02:48:55 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Bartman

I am new to mopars.  So I am probably asking a question most of you guys have known for years.  I have a stock 1971 340, j heads big valves.  It's a 4 speed, 355 gears with power disk breaks.  What would be some things to change on the engine to make it faster.  It is very streetable now and I drive it a lot so I don't want to mess that up.  Stock intake with a 600 holly carb.  Love to hear some ideas. 

Roadman

Welcome aboard @Bartman     :welcome:   The engine gurus will weigh in shortly.   :rebelflag"

Bartman

Thanks.  I am excited to hear what people have to say.

Katfish

Some bolt on mods you could do:
Aluminum intake like an Edlebrock Performer
Larger carb, maybe a Demon
Headers / exhaust , TTI makes a great system

hato

:welcome: to the sight you will love the info avalible here a few questions
1: are you running the oem cam specs or custom
2: have you considered the mr six pack cam a lot of ppl rave about them
3: have you put the current setup on a chassis dyno or relying on the butt dyno like everyone  :stayinlane:

Bartman

The cam is mopar performance cam that i was told Was equivalent to stock.  How would it run if I went with an eldebrock air gap intake and a 750 cfm carb.  Would that be a bad idea with the stock cam.  I have read that an ld340 would be a good intake but it's cheaper to buy a new air gap intake.  I can change the cam and lifters if that's what it would require to make a difference over what I have now.  I just don't have an experience it mopars.  I don't know what are the good combinations.

Bartman

I am going to buy a tti exhaust system for the car.  So I will have that covered.

ec_co

also consider EFI over a carb setup. better driveability, better engine life, easier starts, plenty of flow and about the same power curves. companies like FiTech http://fitechefi.com/ or Edelbrock, FastEFI