Main Menu

valley pan intake gaskets

Started by GoMangoBoys, February 16, 2022, 08:30:35 PM

Previous topic Next topic

GoMangoBoys

I bought a valley pan.  It came with 2 felt intake gaskets per head.  I saw a youtube video where the guy used the metal valley pan with RTV as the gasket and did not use the felt gaskets.  The valley pan came with 2 gaskets per side.  Seems like I really should use them.  This is my first Mopar build, so I have no experience with this.  What do you guys do?

RacerX

Quote from: GoMangoBoys on February 16, 2022, 08:30:35 PM
I bought a valley pan.  It came with 2 felt intake gaskets per head.  I saw a youtube video where the guy used the metal valley pan with RTV as the gasket and did not use the felt gaskets.  The valley pan came with 2 gaskets per side.  Seems like I really should use them.  This is my first Mopar build, so I have no experience with this.  What do you guys do?

I've never used any additional gaskets with the metal valley pans...   all the ones I have ever installed came with a
small tube of some blue liquid to spread around the intake ports and that was it.   A dab of RTV in the corners and
off you go...

Chryco Psycho

2 things
I use the FelPro 1215 as it blocks the heat cross over port , which is not needed unless you drive in very cold weather .
I always use the paper gaskets between the pan & the heads to keep oil from being pulled from the lifter valley .

DeathProofCuda

Quote from: GoMangoBoys on February 16, 2022, 08:30:35 PM

Like ported vs. manifold vacuum, this is one of those questions that is debated endlessly on the forums.  Seems like every big block Mopar guy out there has their own special method for sealing the intake.  Most of them probably work.  My advice is don't overthink it. :alan2cents: