Main Menu

Front end jacking points for a 71 E body

Started by echallenger70, October 20, 2024, 08:18:45 AM

Previous topic Next topic

echallenger70

Hi All,

I'm new to the form, having just bought my first Challenger just a few days ago.  My question is: is it safe - okay - to put a jack under the engine cradle?  I'm use to GM A body cars (Chevelle - Cutlass - GTO) and they have a big hunk of metal at the engine cradle area.  Where the Challenger's cradle area seems much less robust.  The car I bought is a convertible so I would rather not lift it from the sides or the bumper as to not flex the body more than necessary.

If there is a better place to put the jack on the front end of the car (to get both front wheels off the ground) please let me know.  Also, is it true that the threads on the driver's side of the car are loosened in a clockwise rotation?

And if you've read this far, my Challenger is a 71, one family owner car from new.  It only has 43,000 miles.  Completely original EVERYTHING - paint, interior, nothing has been changed or updated from day one, except for engine and tranny seals.  It's a sweet running 318 with a 3 speed manual shift on the floor.  A beautiful piece of Chrysler history that I plan to preserve during my ownership.

Thanks for the help - Ed - Savannah, GA   

Finoke

Hi Ed,
Yes jack the car up in the front by centering the jack under the middle of the K frame that holds the engine. Then I put jack stands on each side where the lower control arms meet the left and right side of the k frame. At that point you can remove the jack. I own 2 convertibles and you are smart not to jack from the side.

Driver side wheels have left hand threaded studs if the car is original enough where the where never changed out to match the other side like most were.

echallenger70

Thanks for the info Finoke.  I appreciate it.

torredcuda