Main Menu

Hemi Heat Tubes - how to block off/remove

Started by Mopsquad, March 15, 2018, 02:07:18 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mopsquad

Hi All!

I'm in the process of converting the 426 to EFI and being a newbie, I never noticed the heat tubes attached to the intake manifold before.  I removed the intake manifold to install the new EFI intake and I had to unbolt the existing heat tubes.

So what should I do with them? I can cap them off and leave in place or, I can attempt to remove them from the exhaust.

What are your thoughts?

(pic is the two tubes at the time of assembly, the engine is currently in the car)

Chryco Psycho

The EFI wuill adapt to intake air temp so it doesn't require the heat tubes + I doubt you are driving the car in below freezing temps , the heat tubes help atomize the fuel & keep it suspended in the air while inside the intake , with injectors at the inlet of the head this will not help & will lower performance with a hot intake .
So the short answer is yes remove the tubes & plug the holes at the exhaust manifolds .

Mopsquad

Quote from: Chryco Psycho on March 15, 2018, 02:50:44 PM
The EFI wuill adapt to intake air temp so it doesn't require the heat tubes + I doubt you are driving the car in below freezing temps , the heat tubes help atomize the fuel & keep it suspended in the air while inside the intake , with injectors at the inlet of the head this will not help & will lower performance with a hot intake .
So the short answer is yes remove the tubes & plug the holes at the exhaust manifolds .

Thank you for the reply.  Yes, the EFI will self adjust to temp.  I guess I was asking for the sake of giving a stealth EFI look, can I leave them attached to the exhaust?  It would also save me the hassle of working down in that cramped area.  I heard there is a flapper door or something like that down low.  Will it default to staying open?

Thank you :)

Chryco Psycho