Main Menu

Leaky Thermoquad

Started by Cudino, May 09, 2017, 12:59:46 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Cudino

Hi All.  I'm a newbie to Carter Thermoquads, this is my first one to tinker with and rebuild.  As I understand this carb is from a '72 340 AT Cuda (on that same engine now).  The problem I was having was that fuel was leaking out of the top gasket (between the upper air horn and the phenolic body) at both rear corners.  I bought and installed a rebuild kit, with new gaskets, but unfortunately it is still leaking from these upper rear corners. 

During my rebuild I did address the following:  I installed the 2 O-rings into the phenolic bowl wells before installing the air horn.  I installed the needle tree with the dimples facing towards the air horn and with the spring, and it is operating correctly (moving up with accelerator).  The choke is installed and working properly.  The choke diaphragm is holding vacuum (and with the link installed is holding the secondary air butterfly closed), and the diaphragm opens and closes correctly when vacuum is applied or removed.  I replaced the float needles and seats, but I didn't have to readjust/bend the float levels because I confirmed they were already set at 1" from gasket surface to top.  Seems like that was all the tricky stuff, unless I missed something.

The rebuild kit came with 2 upper gaskets, looks like the second one has a few extra holes but otherwise is the same.  I am thinking about installing this gasket as well (2 gaskets), if that might help fix the leak.

Any suggestions?