Main Menu

I went vintage motorcycle road racing this weekend

Started by jordan, July 29, 2019, 03:27:56 PM

Previous topic Next topic

jordan

Its not car racing, but its racing.  I entered my first race in 24 years.  I haven't been on a track in 11 years on a motorcycle.  This past winter my buddy talked me into vintage road racing on a spare  1986 Yamaha FZ600 he has had sitting in his shop for 20 years.  He has a full race prep version of the same bike that he hasn't ridden in 20 years too.  He freshened his up, and he and I converted the second street bike into a race bike.  It is mostly stock except for suspension mods and a carb kit. 
    A couple of weeks ago I passed a racing school in order to be eligible to enter the AHRMA national series .  I had a blast.  The bike worked well enough but it still needed tuning.  Last week I got that done.  I then registered for the national races at Road America in Wisconsin. 
    Friday was open practice.  I studied and practiced my skills to get up to speed safely.  I was able to turn some respectable times.  It is very difficult to string together all the minutia to get an entire lap close to correct to be fast.  But to do it lap after lap is much harder than i remembered. 
     Saturday was my first race.  I totally dorked up the start.  Going three wide into turn one at 90mph was pretty scary!! I decided to lay back to be safe and then pick off my opponents.  I started getting the hang of it.  I ended up fifth out of ten.  My buddy and racing partner got a big fat DNF because his battery died on the starting line.