Main Menu

Interesting Shaker Article on Hemmings

Started by 7E-Bodies, June 03, 2024, 06:19:28 AM

Previous topic Next topic

7E-Bodies

I'm not a shaker expert, so I'm not saying this is totally correct, but it seemed interesting. I thought I'd share for those trying to restore one or study up. Hopefully the link works.

https://www.hemmings.com/stories/saving-a-shaker/

Kevin
1970 Challenger R/T Numbers Matching 440 Auto in F8 Quad Green

mccannix

I knew it was coming out,  I just didn't think this soon.
Well written, and informative.
The Fram in Chatham Ontario responsible for the manufacture of the steel components,
and the Fram in Stratford Ontario responsible for manufacture of the various air cleaner elements
has been corrected so as not to cause confusion.
Other than that the bubble restoration process is very informative

Mr Cuda

These articles are timely. I have been waiting to clean and document my bubbles, and remove their 40 y.o. dirt .
 I didn't want to do it sooner as some of the finishes underneath could be removed during cleaning. The parts and flappers were probably just lacquer or low grade enamel. The outside bubble would have been lacquer for sure.
The guide to restoring shows much black on the bottom. Obviously,  my bubbles have no such amounts of overspray. Is the current restoration standard what this article shows?
This is after they have cleaned and primed, then coated the inside white.
 Wouldn't the correct inside finish be the fiberglass gel coat like surface, not paint? I believe they were made from an  early version of SMC.
 Certainly, there has to be a range of "correct", not that I'm going for o.e. gold, or that many will see the inside

larry4406

Quote from: Mr Cuda on June 03, 2024, 08:04:17 PMThese articles are timely. I have been waiting to clean and document my bubbles, and remove their 40 y.o. dirt .