Main Menu

Help a newbie out - 440 engine

Started by Yobie, September 29, 2020, 09:40:50 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Yobie

I have an opportunity to purchase a 74 440 rebuilt .30 over, forged pistons, hughes whiplash cam kit, deep oil pan, double roller chain. I think I can get it around 2800k.

I'm just very new to engine rebuilds and not sure what to even ask or if it's a good deal. It's the original crank and has the 3462346 heads which seem to be junk, but was told they had a valve job done.

I was going to build my own so I could learn, but taking this off my plate frees me up to keep going on the body work and paint quicker!

Any insight on this build would be appreciated and or questions to ask.

Thanks guys.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Chryco Psycho

Well it seems like a decent starting point assuming it is $2800  , Not 2,800,000  :Thud:
The year of the block doesn't really matter , the only bad years were 66 .
The steel crank & forged pistons sound good but which forged pistons , you really want the 6 pack pistons with 4 valve reliefs giving you 9.8 :1 compression so get a part # for the pistons if possible . You can get forged low compression pistons also FYI .
The heads are not Junk but really are the least desirable of all the Iron factory heads being open chamber . I would look at a set of Trick Flow heads to replace them .
  If done properly the 2800 is about the cost of rebuilding the shortblock anyway .
Get the specs for the camshaft , it is the most important single part of the engine .
You can ask about the brg part #s used , I assume it is using stock LY rods with new bolts

he other school of thought is to grab a 440 Block , drop in a 440 Source 512 kit & do the machine work & you would be around 3k  then get the cam you want for it & you might be into the short block for around $1000 more .

JonH