Main Menu

Help/advise needed, pushrod lengths, non vs adjustable rocker arms?

Started by Cudakiller70, May 28, 2017, 09:50:02 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Cudakiller70

Did some pushrod measuring today. I've never done this before  :o hope this makes sense.
Pushrod length measurements some varied from 7.510 to 7.550, stock is 7.500. Heads have all new valves and shaved only.015 to clean up, using felpro gasket, compresses to I think about .044? Or close to that, heads torqued. Made solid lifter from old hydraulic lifter with recommended pre load of .080 (.080-.095 recommended), used comp cams threaded rod checker adjusting with till zero lash at rocker arm did all 16.
Im thinking I need adjustable rockers to mantain lifter pre load because length variances?
What do you suggest or would change or? Not seeing how non adjustable rockers will work  :help:

RUNCHARGER

I agree: I wouldn't be happy with .040 either. Can you lay a straight edge across all the valve tips and they are all level?
Sheldon

Shane Kelley

Only one thing to do here if you want it perfect. Adjustable rocker.  That's exactly why I always run them.

Cuda Cody

I would go with the Adjustable Rockers if it was me.   :alan2cents:

1 Wild R/T

Quote from: RUNCHARGER on May 28, 2017, 10:17:46 PM
I agree: I wouldn't be happy with .040 either. Can you lay a straight edge across all the valve tips and they are all level?

Like this....

Cudakiller70

The valve tips are not perfect, so that is the problem. How did the factory do this in production cars?
Ok then looking for adjustable rockers, I know the factory 273 are good, any brand recommended?
Or I should avoid?

RUNCHARGER

I like the 273's and about $100 seems to be the going rate on them. Check bushings and tips for wear though.
Sheldon

Cudakiller70

The only ones I've found around here is a guy parting out a car and he wants me to take the whole motor, me pulling it for $200 :Thud:

HP_Cuda

1970 Cuda Yellow 440 4 speed (Sold)