Main Menu

Another new guy.

Started by DodgeThis, August 08, 2022, 01:44:53 PM

Previous topic Next topic

DodgeThis

Hello!  I'm new to Challengers and Dodge. I bought a 1972 Challenger, 340, 4spd back in May. I would like to thank you all for help I have received just by searching this site. I bought it from a dealer in Texas. I don't know who built the engine or it's specs, so that kind of sucks. It does sound like it has a healthy cam. The block is a 73, 70 J heads I think. Long tube headers. Holley Torker intake with a Holley 4778-5 700 cfm carb. I did talk to the previous owner but he didn't know much about the engine. He did say it has solid lifters. If anyone knows this car I would be grateful for any info on the engine internals.
1972 Challenger
2014 Corvette Z51
2011 Raptor

Dakota

:wave: Welcome to the site from Buffalo, NY!  I have a 70 Challenger with a 340... mostly stock.   It's a blast to drive around town in.   What are your plans for the car?   Hard to tell for sure from the pictures, but the body looks to be in good shape.

DodgeThis

The body is a good 20 footer. It does have some cracks in the paint in a few places. Some obvious bondo spots. The under side looks really good as well as the interior. I didn't want a show car because I plan to daily drive it when the weather is nice. On my 4th drive the clutch started slipping so that was my first major project. I put in a Centerforce duel friction, much nicer now. I pretty much like how the car was done so I have no plans to change much, just fix the little things. 
1972 Challenger
2014 Corvette Z51
2011 Raptor

DodgeThis

1972 Challenger
2014 Corvette Z51
2011 Raptor

Mopsquad

Welcome to one of the best forums on the web!

JS29

:welcome:From central New York!  :handshake:

Brads70

blown motor