Main Menu

New to Mopar world with a 71 Cuda 383 Shaker

Started by fuscobros, October 26, 2020, 02:50:46 AM

Previous topic Next topic

fuscobros

Hi gang.  I am brand new to the Mopar scene but a life long Musclecar fanatic (primarly a Pontiac guy) Last month I purchased this numbers matching 1971 Cuda 383 Automatic VERY heavily optioned (2 fenders tags) with a Shaker hood, Leather Interior and Factory Louvers...just to name a few options.  The car is ALL there, all original with 64k miles on it and a broadcast sheet I found under the rear seat.  I purchased it from the second owner who bought it in 1971 from the original owner when it had 5,000 miles on it.  It's a little rough with some rust around the quarters, trunk floor needs to be replaced and headliner is shot....but the car starts and runs.  Being that I've never owned a Mopar before I'm trying to get a sense of how rare and desirable this car is. Especially because it has the Shaker hood, Leather Interior and rear Louvers.  Any idea how many 71 Cuda 383 Automatic with Shakers were produced?  I plan on restoring the car but would like to know how far I should go with it?  Here are the codes on the fender tags.  If someone could kindly break it down for me it would be much appreciated.  Also, how can I tell if it has the 727 Torqueflight transmission and/or a Dana rear?  Thanks in advance!    1st Tag- J81 L25 L31 L34 M21 CTD G36 J25 J45 J68 J78 A62 B51 C16 C55 C62 G15 V1X U A01 A21 A36 A45 EV2 SRX9 000 401 001220 E65 D32   2nd Tag-N85 N96 R35 26 EN2 M25 M31 M88 N41 N42 .....Oh yeah, the car has the Magnum 500 wheels on it!

anlauto

That car is well deserving of a full ground up restoration. :alan2cents:

Great car. Likely worth about $35K-$40K as it sits.

Welcome to the best E Body website in the world :grouphug:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

1971Y13