Main Menu

Chrysler Engine Block Castings Processes (booklet)

Started by Cuda Cody, January 19, 2020, 06:14:34 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Cuda Cody

These are all possible because @indytomVcuda  took the time to scan these and share them with us.   :grouphug:  Thank you Tom for sharing all your valuable experience.

https://www.e-bodies.org/resources/cuda_challenger_tsb_specifications_engineering_illustrations_drawings/chrysler-foundries-block-castings-426-hemi-engine-processes/

A nice write up from Tom...

"My name is Tom V. Kelly and I'm a retired Facilities Engineer & Mfr Engineering Supervisor from Chrysler.  I have some info that may help on discussions related to the lag between engine block casting dates & engine plant machining/assembly dates that comes up periodically.  This is a rehash of info I posted on Moparts last year (March 2018).  Wanted to share here since it's a topic in this thread.
A bit off topic but some history on the Chrysler Indianapolis Foundry where I started my career as that's where the engine block castings came from.  The sand mold, grey iron plant was originally named the American Foundry when first started in Indianapolis in the 1890s.  It was relocated a bit further west in town later before being purchased by Chrysler around 1949.  It officially became the Chrysler Indianapolis Foundry in 1958.  It was closed down by the Daimler 'braintrust' in 2005, block production farmed out to Germany and South America and the Indy facility was subsequently bulldozed a year or so later.