Main Menu

floor jack service

Started by HP2, December 30, 2018, 02:57:10 PM

Previous topic Next topic

HP2

I've got a 3 ton Craftsman I've had since around 1990 that doesn't quite work the way its supposed to. It will slowly crank up and will lift a car an inch or two before it won't move it up any more.  I tried adding some hydraulic fluid to the cylinder but it didn't seem to make a difference. Suggestions on  where to find a service manual, methods of service, or things I would do to revive it.

Looks like this;

RJChallenger

Your life is worth more than that jack. I've been a licensed millwright /industrial mechanic most of my life and those things do wear out .It would need a complete rebuild seals etc.and that not taking the condition of the cyl walls  into consideration Buy a new jack , they a bigger and cheaper.

Katfish

Sounds like it needs new seals.
Can't be hard to rebuild and worth a shot.
Bet those Craftsman's all used the same bottle jack, kits must be easy to find and cheap.

edison1970

I would rather rebuild but I never had luck with rebuilding jacks. Mine still leaked down so I tossed it and bought an aluminum one from Harbor Freight. I'll never buy another heavy steel jack again. Good luck whichever way you go.

A.Gramz

I wouldn't rebuild it.  Buy a new one.  :alan2cents:  There relatively cheap now a days.  If anything is scored, nicked or bent it will leak/fail again in no time.  Too much liability and safety issues with lifting devices. 

71-440

I have a Craftsman 2.5 ton floor jack I bought in 2010. It leaks down slowly. To rebuild it costs almost the same as a new one.
I'm going to toss it and buy another jack.
Joe

BIGSHCLUNK

I had my craftsman floor jack from the late 70's... went to the scrap pile 3 years ago...  no complaints

RusTy/SE

I have a similar Sears 3-Ton floor jack; here is the part of the Owner's Manual it came with. The exploded view may help you decide :wrenching:
JS29U0B