Main Menu

71 383 value?

Started by Mac84, March 01, 2020, 08:36:47 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mac84

I am new to the E body world and am looking at buying a 71 Challenger hardtop 383 3 speed car. It runs and drives but needs some sheet metal work. Overall a solid car. I have no idea the value on these cars and was hoping for some help as to what it might be worth. Any input would be appreciated!  Thanks in advance!

Chryco Psycho

HI & Welcome to the site from Panama  :wave:
I am not even going to try top guess based on 1 picture but a complete running & driving car is always a good start especially if it is solid   :twothumbsup:

Cuda Cody

Welcome to the forum @Mac84   :welcome:

Do you have any other photos of the car?  That would help us know what the price might be.

Mac84

Thanks! I completely understand.  I have a bunch more pics, just don't know how to post them all at the same time! I am not expecting an end all number, just a ballpark range to give me an idea of what seems fair. Is this a $5000-$10000 car or is that too low to expect?

6bblgt

is it a JH23N1B or JS23N1B car?  fender tag?

below where you entered the first pic - there's (more attachments) to add additional pics

Mac84

VIN is JH23N1B381866

6bblgt

I see $10K+ easily

is the 3-speed manual transmission original to the car? or are "WE" talking 3-speed automatic (I see kick-down linkage)?  NO fender tag or broadcast sheet?

:o GG's "white book" shows:
1 Challenger JH23 hardtop (roll-down rear 1/4 windows) 383 4bbl 3-speed manual built to US spec.
2 Challenger JH23 coupe (A93 fixed rear 1/4 windows) 383 4bbl 3-speed manual built to US spec.

Mac84

I haven't seen a fender tag or broadcast sheet yet,  but the owner said it was a 727 3 speed auto.

anlauto

I thought he meant 3 speed standard as well  :o ...a real 1 of 1  :unbelievable:

I would say $10K-$15K if it's not a rot box underneath  :alan2cents:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....