Main Menu

Freakin Bubbles

Started by PatO, October 25, 2018, 07:51:00 PM

Previous topic Next topic

PatO

:steamingmad:  I've got most of my all new brake system installed so I went back to bench bleed my master cylinder before I hooked up all the lines.  I have a new Dorman Master Cylinder for use with power front disc/rear drum set up.

I started out with the kit that uses the small plastic inserts that push into the brake line ports and feed the tubes that return the fluid to the master cylinder. Never could get the air completely out after an afternoon of pumping the master cylinder.  I kinda felt air was getting past these inserts and back into the system on the return stroke.

Today I got a bit better kit that had the plastic screw in plugs of the correct size. I hooked up this assembly and started working a away on eliminating the air.  It seems I can't quite get it done right.

The rear (larger) chamber in the master cylinder, which I believe is for the front discs, seems to be fine after several attempts. The front (smaller) chamber is problematic.  I think I have it and then out come a few more bubbles.

I'm using DOT 5 fluid and I'm being careful not to pump the cylinder too quickly. I'll try for a few minutes and then give it a break for 15 or twenty minutes. Just when I think I have it right again, out comes some more bubbles.  :steamingmad: :steamingmad:

As I push the plunger in I can see an occasional small bubble rise from the bottom of the chamber ??  So I'm still wondering if air is getting past the plastic fitting still? I'm pretty sure that I've pumped this at least 50 or 60 times or more this afternoon.  Argh!  So I've just walked away from it for the evening before a wrench or something goes flying out door.  I have a good pressure bleeder that I intend to use to bleed the system, I was wondering if I should install the master cylinder and pressure bleed the system and hope that takes care of the remaining bubbles.