Main Menu

1974 Challenger Restomod

Started by Dmod1974, December 08, 2019, 09:25:14 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Dmod1974

I've been on here for quite a while, so figured I'd finally post something!  I'm currently exactly one year into my restoration.  I've had this car since I was 16 (I'm 35 now), and have literally done everything else myself (EVERYTHING except the block machine work) to it except for body work since I've never done it before.  Well, after realizing how much it would cost to pay someone to do this work and being so hands on, I've had a change of heart! 

It's a restomod and most of the mechanical changes are done with the possible upgrade to a Hellcrate and Tremec Magnum powertrain later on.

Some basic specs on it before going under the knife:

- 408 stroker w/ Eddy aluminum heads, Super Victor EFI manifold, headers, etc..
- EFI using Megasquirt 3X module that I assembled and tuned with custom harness, LS truck coils, 4150 TB, Venom injectors
- Aeromotive Phantom Stealth 340 EFI pump in modified replacement tank
- Vintage A/C controlled by MS3X
- 4L60E controlled my MS2 module communicating via CAN bus to MS3X
- 200A alternator
- Champion 3 tube radiator with Lincoln MK4 fan and overflow
- RMS Alterktion front suspension
- RMS Street Lynx rear suspension
- 14" Wilwood brakes all the way around
- Hydroboost assist
- 18" Torq Thrust M wheels (275 front and 315 rear)
- power windows, locks, keyless entry, Autometer gauges, stereo w/ 4 channel amp

Note: this was neither a rare nor a numbers matching car when I bought it way back in the day, so hopefully too many people don't lose their minds with all of the changes.  I also drive the crap out of this car when weather allows, so it had to start, run, handle, and stop well to keep up with modern cars with the inevitable Chicago traffic insanity that is the norm around here.  Defensive driving is not an option around here, and neither is trying to maintain 1/4 miles gaps between cars.