Main Menu

1972 'Cuda (FY1) - 5.7L Hemi, T56 Magnum

Started by GoodysGotaCuda, January 07, 2017, 02:22:29 AM

Previous topic Next topic

303 Mopar

Quote from: GoodysGotaCuda on November 19, 2017, 07:50:36 PM
It's all turn-key but I tweak on things pretty frequently to creep up on it being "dialed in". I'm an engineer, by nature it'll never be "good enough"  :thinking: :haha:

Traction control and decel fuel cut is what I've been playing with lately.

I'm curious where your decel fuel settings are set.  I had this issue with my 392, and found out the boneheads at Mopar turned off the fuel cut off on decel thus overloading the engine with fuel and backfiring.  I ended up enabling @ 1 mph and disabling @ 127 mph which was the highest mph, fuel on @ 950 rpm and fuel off @ 2500 rpm.

I also connected the fans to run off the engine harness, but had to change the settings because Mopar originally had these at fans on low at 214 degrees and high at 226 and this just pegged my temp gauge so I was not able to tell if I was overheating or not.  I changed settings to fans on low at 180 and high at 190 which now keeps my temp gauge right in the middle.

We did try to adjust the timing from 12 to 14 degrees which only bumped the Hp from 361 to 365 and Tq from 387 to 393 at the wheels.  This was not that big of jump so we went back to 12 degrees.

GoodysGotaCuda

Quote from: 303 Mopar on November 20, 2017, 11:33:30 AM
It's all turn-key but I tweak on things pretty frequently to creep up on it being "dialed in". I'm an engineer, by nature it'll never be "good enough"  :thinking: :haha:

Traction control and decel fuel cut is what I've been playing with lately.