blown motor

Who has more fun than people!
68 Charger R/T    74 Challenger Rallye 
12 Challenger RT Classic    15 Challenger SXT
79 Macho Power Wagon clone    17 Ram Rebel

BIGSHCLUNK

Murray, never heard of that before.......  :thinking:   :notsure:

JH27N0B

As a pilot that doesn't make any sense to me, the big vertical stabilizer on an airplane makes the plane try to weathervane during ground operations in crosswinds, and we must counteract that from occurring using the rudder and ailerons, along with nose wheel steering on tricycle gear aircraft.

blown motor

I'm no engineer but the vertical stabilizer rises well above the body of the airplane and is flat so it would not deflect air like the rounded fuselage. The car is flat front and back so the side pressure would be more even.  :notsure: Haha, look at me trying to rationalize aeronautical engineering! I'd be better off drinking, oh wait...
Who has more fun than people!
68 Charger R/T    74 Challenger Rallye 
12 Challenger RT Classic    15 Challenger SXT
79 Macho Power Wagon clone    17 Ram Rebel

JH27N0B

There's a lot of physics involved and certainly the wings also contribute a lot to an airplane's tendencies toward weathervaning in crosswinds, but still how much additional steering effort have you had to exert when driving any car in a crosswind? I've never noticed it. Unless you are towing a trailer or driving a box truck or semi you probably haven't either.
Sounds like marketing BS to try to sell styling trends of the time as actually having a practical use.
Don't get me wrong, the fins styling trend of the late 50s did make for some cool looking cars!

tparker

I kinda agree it's marketing BS. Cool though. If it really worked and really mattered, we would have wings on todays cars. I don't think those cars were capable of speeds or cornering that would require wings, assuming they actually worked. But then again, I am no engineer and would be better off drinking too. LOL

torredcuda