Main Menu

Carter thermoquad rebuild

Started by Noah Swimley, May 16, 2020, 11:45:31 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Noah Swimley

I am trying to rebuild my carburetor on my 1973 Plymouth barracuda 4 barrel 340. It sticks from time to time and stays at max rpms and wont back off, unless I turn it off. Sometimes itll also have a very rough idle. From what I've been told the best bet is to rebuild the carburetor and replace the gaskets. I have never done one before so I'd like to know what kit I should buy and if there are any good videos, or directions out there that I can follow.

7E-Bodies

You did it, Noah! You'll like it here much better than on FB. A lot of great help here.

Kevin
1970 Challenger R/T Numbers Matching 440 Auto in F8 Quad Green

JS29

:welcome: @Noah Swimley  I am not vary good with carbs but @ScottSmith_Harms is. he restores them.  :handshake:

Chryco Psycho

Welcome & beautiful Cuda  :wave:
The TQ is a great carb when it runs right & a pain in the ass when it doesn't , I would suggest you get the info on rebuilding it from the factory service manual available on this site , the biggest issue is if the bakelite body is warped , the rest is easy .
Of course we can help you also !

ScottSmith_Harms

Welcome to the forum!

As mentioned, you can certainly rebuild it yourself, it isn't really that difficult to do a basic gasket change level rebuild (basically just main body gaskets, a new needle & seat set, an accelerator pump, and a couple of O-rings). That said, if you decide to do a complete rebuild or restoration it gets far more complicated like removing the shafts, butterflies, etc. Just depends on your personal mechanical abilities. BTW, I've found VERY few with fuel bowls warped beyond factory specs. Most have a small amount of warpage from new, few were "absalutely flat". A small amount of warpage is not a problem due to the gaskets absorbing some of it along with the bolts holding pressure down on them.