Main Menu

Fuel filter ?

Started by 73chalngr, May 15, 2020, 11:43:19 AM

Previous topic Next topic

73chalngr

I have a clear fuel filter and every so often I see air bubbles in the filter, is the normal?

Mrbill426

I have seen fuel systems "suck" in air without any signs of leaks.  Also have heard those glass filters can be the culprit.

WCC

Those glass filters scare me. Get one of these.  :bigthumb:

Brads70

:iagree:  Please get rid of that one! I've had one rattle loose and spray fuel all over.
I used to be a tech inspector at my local race track. You would never make onto the track with one of those on it. Metal ones are best!

JS29

Quote from: Mrbill426 on May 15, 2020, 12:06:21 PM
I have seen fuel systems "suck" in air without any signs of leaks.  Also have heard those glass filters can be the culprit.
:iagree:

73chalngr

I use it because I believe I am having a vapor lock problem, and I can see the fuel. My car does not overheat but I have had it shut off on me then a half an hour later start right up . I found a clear plastic one that looks like your picture. Any ideas ?  Can coil overheat ? Go bad it is probably 50 years old ?

JS29

YES!!! I have seen coils, pickup coils and control box's do what you are describing. What have you got for an ignition system?  :popcorn:

73chalngr

I have a small block(340) with electronic ignition chrome (Mopar Performance) Ecu stock coil and blue (MP) wires  .

73chalngr

Thinking of getting a blaster two msd coil any thoughts on that would be appreciated .

Scooter

Quote from: 73chalngr on May 16, 2020, 07:15:28 AM
Thinking of getting a blaster two msd coil any thoughts on that would be appreciated .

Have a Blaster 2 on my Ford for 5-6 years now, no issues and works well with the 6AL box. I replaced the stock coil on my 360 Challenger with a Pertronix Black Coil, Part # HRR688C. Perked the motor up quite a bit.

:alan2cents:

Chryco Psycho