Main Menu

My 383's performance

Started by Mr Lee, March 29, 2022, 03:00:38 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mr Lee

Thanks everyone for the input.

In reference to the valves being tight.  Since I have a Lunati cam and not a stock cam, but I don't have a cam card, what do I set the valve adjustment at?  I've never done it before but aren't they supposed to be adjusted to the cam manufacturer specs?  It is a flat tappet cam.  Maybe I can contact Lunati and ask them for advice. 

If my cam were advanced, would I have other symptoms besides it being a little low on power?  Would it explain why my engine likes to be at 40 degrees advanced timing?  I think most 383's are at 34-38.  I did check TDC with a piston stop and my timing marks on the damper are correct, (or maybe 1/2 degree off).   

So, I get that the 383 with it's big bore and short stroke is made more for top end.  Maybe I'd be happier if I had asked for a cam that was designed for more top end power because as it is, the cam is asking the engine to produce power in the lower range that the motor really isn't designed for eh?
So, if I check my cam and find that it's degreed correctly, do I replace it with something built more for top end?  And then put on an intake (I have a bigger carb on already) and see where I'm at before deciding on a stroker kit?   :thinking:

Remember, wherever you go, there you are.

Mr Cuda

My comment about cam advance was only a possible cause of vacuum fluttering.
Your comment about it liking more advance would indicate that there is a mismatch between cam and compression.
Mopars  like10-12 initial,  32-34 total timing as a base. Then add vacuum advance for mileage,  only ported vacuum source.
Flat tappet? Hydraulic flat tapper probably.  You should hear no ticking from the lifters. .040" of plunger compression when rockers are tightened.
Did you get a cranking compression number?  I forgot if you did.

Mr Lee