Main Menu

Timing chain replacement

Started by xx88man, July 01, 2021, 11:24:21 AM

Previous topic Next topic

xx88man

I have the water pump off my car and decided to check for timing chain slack. I can turn the crankshaft 9-10 degrees before my ignition rotor starts to move so obviously time to replace the chain and gears.
Doing a little research it looks like some people have had trouble with sealing up between the oil pan/ timing chain/ leaking. I have never done this before on an old engine. Any tips on doing this? The car ran great before I pulled it apart.... Will this mess up my timing? Any help here is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Keep yer foot in it

Rich G.

I don't think that's a big deal. New one will probably stretch anyway. Last few I did were loose right out of the box. It's not a big deal to change it anyway. Use a good sealer between the pans and cover and you won't have a problem.

xx88man

I wondered that too.....how long before the new one is stretched that much too? 318 2bbl BTW
Keep yer foot in it

Purepony

I just added the oil slinger on my 383 ans the chain was good so I left it on. I would recommend taking your time with that job and torquing everything to specs.  I did add a new timing cover just for safe measure.

chargerdon

"The Right Stuff" while expensive seals just about anything.   I used it on my 360 LA engine when i swapped camshafts. 

On the small block if found that the oil pan gasket always tears off when removing the timing chain cover.   They include little pieces of gasket to replace the part that breaks off, but, i found that it was tough getting the timing chain cover on over top of that...   so instead of using those small pieces, i just filled it up with "the right stuff" and no leaks !!

Never did it on a big block. 

Chryco Psycho

I would swap it out , the original is likely a nylon gear on the cam which is causing the slack , a double roller wiith steel gears would be my choice .