Main Menu

Reconditioning an Engine Block - What do?

Started by Spartan040, May 31, 2023, 07:25:08 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Spartan040

Hello all, long time no see. I'm finally in a financial position to start piecing together my project little by little. First step, I want to secure a 440 engine block.

First, what should I be looking for in a used block? What should I avoid?

Second, are there any good books or other sources of information that can give me a step by step guide on how to clean and recondition the block? I would like to do as much of the work myself as I can, though I have no experience with block machining, so I'll leave the bore and deck honing to a professional.

Chryco Psycho

Really just about all 440 blocks are equal .
The 67 blocks do not have the extra ridge along the side of the block at head bolt depth .
Less overbore is always better .
You can drop in a 440 Source stroker up to 512 CI .
Basically you need to steam the block & you can tumble them & they look like new .

pschlosser

The 440 engine block may be easier to find than a 426 or 340, because they came in vans, trucks and motor homes, as well as passenger cars.

As engine blocks are rebuilt, they get bored out "10-over" "20-over" etc.  If it were me, I would avoid a block that has already been bored to 30 over.

Ideally, you want a block that has already been tested (ex. magnaflux) for cracks.  But it comes down to  cost and availability.

Also, since they are somewhat plentiful, I would want to find a block that was the same year as my car, just to try to get things to match a little better.  Maybe even the a stamped HP (orange) block.

Unless you have (or plan to buy new) most of the internal engine parts, buying one that is somewhat complete can be a real help, too.  Not just a bare block, but eh whole thing, intake to oil pan.

MoparLeo