Main Menu

carpet install??

Started by Shoooter, April 22, 2018, 09:23:10 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Shoooter

How hard is it to install the carpet on a ebody? I've never done carpet before and was wondering if it is something I should tackle or pay the 200 bucks and have it done? any suggestions or videos?

RUNCHARGER

It's pretty easy. I would never consider paying someone else to do it. Just be patient and make sure it is conforming to the floor shape properly. They are oversize and I tend to sneak up on the trimming rather than do one cut. If you have a 4 speed hump I find it easier to place the front carpet in the correct spot. Console brackets are in the way but you just have to be careful fitting around them is all.
Sheldon

JH27N0B

Lots of trimming involved so wear gloves when doing it or you'll end up with blistered fingers (DAMHIK)!
Also, use a wood burning tool or soldering iron to burn the holes through where the seat studs etc go, this is much easier than trying to cut those holes.

CudaMoparRay

As stated above it is pretty easy just take your time and measure and cut carefully.
I did my first ever one, fairly quickly.
Check out this video, it is helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHc5DaLD0Nk

440WB

Quote from: Shoooter on April 22, 2018, 09:23:10 PM
How hard is it to install the carpet on a ebody? I've never done carpet before and was wondering if it is something I should tackle or pay the 200 bucks and have it done? any suggestions or videos?

A couple questions would be...
not so much the funds to pay -

1)do you have the time or would you want to get involved removing your seats, kick panels, rocker trim, center council, seat belts & retractors.

2)What is the time frame this person would need to get it done for you?