Main Menu

Formal check in From snowy Eastern Washington

Started by 71GranCoupe, January 10, 2017, 11:56:10 AM

Previous topic Next topic

71GranCoupe

Got some time. so doing a formal check in here on a new great looking site. I see many old familiar names along with many new ones, great to see everybody!

I subscribe to CODY'S You Tube channel and that is how I found the new place to hang my hat. Can't wait for it to come together, just fantastic.

I have been into E-Bodies before graduating High School. Use to go down to the local Dodge dealer at least once a month. My dream car at the time was the 70/71 Hemi Challenger convert. Dad was getting ready to buy a car and I just happened to have a flyer of the dream car. Well, he did go to the dealer and came back with a Coronet RT 440. He said, those Challengers are like $5500 for one, I can by two of these. Oh well. That is the closest I have gotten the a Hemi Vert as far as ownership. By the time I graduated they were long gone, but my first Challenger was a 1970 Lime Green Six-Pack car. The fuel crisis came along 3 years later and the 3 tank a day Challenger went down the road. Since then I have had a few others, but my best is the Dealer Promo car I found in the early 80's. It is a 2 tag car and survivor, original paint and 68k on the clock and still has the GoodYear Polyglass and 15" tires/wheels as well. It had every option installed on the car at the date of production.  PW, Cruise, rear defroster, luggage rack, delay off headlights, AM-FM, 6 way seat, AC are the ones that really stick out.

Currently I am working on a 71 Gran Coupe N code car. Not many of them around and trying to find parts has been a challenge. Have not done much with it lately, but I do have a stack of AMD metal I picked up from Dave at Roseville.  Looking for the 2 lower rear textured back window trim pieces. I have the other 3.