Main Menu

ECU Mounting Bracket

Started by headejm, October 12, 2018, 12:46:25 PM

Previous topic Next topic

headejm

@Burdar A couple of questions about the ECU mounting bracket on electronic ignition cars. I am converting my 1970 383 to electronic ignition using a Mopar conversion kit.

Do I need to mount the orange ECU on a mounting bracket? Heat related?
Is the factory location for the orange box the best location?
Can it be hidden?

Do you or anyone else have a spare mounting bracket? I know they are reproduced but not crazy about the price.

Thanks!

Claudia

:alan2cents: I am no expert but when I asked the same question, I was told that it should be mounted on the bracket to allow for air movement behind it.

anlauto

All the conversions I do have the ECU mounted in the car near the ashtray/radio area of the dash.
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

Burdar

The general consensus is that the bracket is to allow airflow for cooling the ECU.  I think the M-bodies have it mounted to the inner fender without any extra bracket.  I've wondered if the bracket's main function is to protect it from water running down the firewall in a big rain or when washing the car.  The voltage regulator is mounted right to the firewall though.

I've seen brackets that mount the ECU on the back side of a big block...where the distributor would be on a small block.  I think the best place though is under the battery tray.  It should get some air flow from the fan and be pretty well hidden.  Personally, I don't like to see them mounted to the firewall on the years that didn't originally come with them.

Years ago, I measured my original bracket and made a drawing of all the dimensions.  I gave it to someone on CC.com I think, so he could make his own.  I probably still have a picture of that drawing if you want it.

Burdar

BIGSHCLUNK