Main Menu

Best Welder for Automotive - Can I do this?

Started by 392 Cuda, December 09, 2022, 08:52:12 PM

Previous topic Next topic

dodj

I self taught myself MIG welding back in the mid 80's. The car I'm driving now is the same car I learned to weld on. It hasn't fallen apart on me yet...so I'll say you can do it.
One thing I did learn after several 'less than ideal' welds is.....get it REALLY REALLY clean, the cleaner the better and make sure your welder has a good ground clamp. And your ground clamp not too far from where you are welding. I've even welded stubs of metal onto the car frame to give me a good ground clamp spot.
"There is nothing your government can give you that it hasn't already taken from you in the first place" -Winston Churchill

70_440-6Cuda

I LOVE this thread - thanks everyone for your input here - I have a friend who is amazing at metal fab - he said if I bought a welder he would come buy and help me learn.  Something I have wanted to know how to do since I was a teenager.  Metal work is one of the few things I just figured I would never learn but I am looking for a decent used machine and the info here is awesome - this keeps me motivated!
You can't buy happiness, but you can buy horsepower and that's kind of the same thing.....

bdschnei