Main Menu

Fender Tag fake?

Started by cldeibner, August 07, 2022, 04:22:54 PM

Previous topic Next topic

cldeibner

Hey guys! I am quite new to this space and need help on how to tell when a tag is fake. I was told this is a fake tag. Could you identify what about this tag tells you it's fake?

anlauto

The tag has a few mistakes, that make it an obvious reproduction.
TX9 as an upper door frame paint code is a major no-no on an E Body tag, all E Bodies had no paint required so they all got 000 there...
D56 is an axle code and axle codes never found their way on to E Body fender tags
V1X the roof code is always above the paint code at the start of line three

Those are just some that stick out to me, I'm sure there's more :alan2cents:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

DeathProofCuda

I understand that there out good people out there that would like to learn how to spot fake tags, but I thought the general consensus was not to freely discuss this stuff online so that the scumbags making fake tags wouldn't get better at making fakes.

anlauto

Quote from: DeathProofCuda on August 07, 2022, 07:23:47 PM
I understand that there out good people out there that would like to learn how to spot fake tags, but I thought the general consensus was not to freely discuss this stuff online so that the scumbags making fake tags wouldn't get better at making fakes.

I think we're way past that now, that may have been true twenty years ago...but the more educated people out there that will be able to spot incorrect reproduction tags...the better it will be...How would anybody learn if it was all top secret amongst a few elite people ?
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....

MoparCarGuy

Quote from: DeathProofCuda on August 07, 2022, 07:23:47 PM