Main Menu

Composite rear leaf springs on an E-Body

Started by Brads70, December 30, 2016, 04:17:05 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Brads70

I've been doing some "research" on these. I asked a guy who just bought a set to weight them and his reply was 10 LBS each!  :2thumbs:  Great way to take 50-80LBS? of unsprung weight off a car and they are available in different rates!  I'm thinking the 175LBS rate would be good!
They are only available in superstock length  ( 2" shorter front segment) so you would need to get a commonly available relocation kit.
I'm liking this........

Pages 17-18  http://www.hypercoils.com/hyperco-catalog#Page10=undefined&page=18

I'm guessing 175LB because Hotchkis uses a 160LB in there kit?  But I'm no expert? :dunno:  I have both front and rear Hotchis bars now.
I bought the 175lb rate  Hyperco composite rear leaf springs and installed them. I have found they react quicker than steel springs. While they are rated higher than anything stock the rear end really squats down when taking off from a stop during a hard launch!
I'm still tuning the new engine and tranny controller so I can't say how they reach during hard cornering. They do not feel too stiff or harsh over bumps.

Brads70

FYI... here is what I had to do to make them work/fit.
They are 20 1/2" front segment  so I had to rework the DrDiff offset SS hangers. I welded up the hole and redrilled it 1/2" forward. I also at that point welded in a plate to gusset the top of the hanger so it won't flex. I don't know if it will flex or not but now was the time to add it in anyways!

I assembled the rear end with the hangers as supplied and it pushed the rear end back that extra half inch..... and it bugged me so I fixed it!

I also had to "shim" up the srings width wise to make them fit the hanger. I made custom shim/spacers.

I also had to flip the socket head cap screws that hold the spring eye as it was too close to the body.