Main Menu

2229171 1" bore Master Cylinder

Started by Ramman, March 09, 2024, 07:55:10 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Ramman

I have an early production, LA built, 70 Challenger R/T with power disc front 9" rear drum brakes. It has the correct 2229171 1" bore master cylinder thats in need of repair. I notice that the later Challengers and Hemi cars with this brake setup changed to a 1 1/8" master cyl. If I'm not concerned with correctness, will the bigger bore master cyl. improve braking or should I look into having the original rebuilt? My thoughts are the bigger bore will move more fluid but increase pedal effort. Which may not be an issue with power brakes.
As a side note, I could probably buy all my body supplies for what 2229171 cores are bringing.

Thanks group!

Katfish

JH27N0B

I used to be an engineer at an aftermarket brake manufacturer and still never figured out the reasoning on different bore size and piston stroke, sometimes on the same model.
70 E bodies used a 1" bore MC on power and manual drum brakes. And a 1" MC on disc brakes.  But a 1-1/8" MC on disc hemis. Same hemi disc MC on B & E.
In 71 they went to using 1-1/32" bore MCs on both B and E bodies. And both drum and disc.
With my Challengers I've used a number of different ones. All my E bodies have been disc brakes.  One car had an aftermarket 1-1/32 when I bought it and it stopped fine.  Another car had an original 1" 9171 on it. When I replaced it after it failed, I put an aftermarket 1-1/8" mc on it.  The pedal was harder and I noticed a few times when I braked hard, the rear brakes started to lock up before the fronts.
I later rebuilt the 9171 and put it back on, and now the brakes are fine again.
My 71 has an original 1-1/32 on it.  It stops fine.
So if I was going to replace a MC on an E body and didn't care if it was OE, I'd use the 71-74 1-1/32" MC.

Ramman