Main Menu

rack n pinon swap

Started by gaddy 1, November 28, 2020, 07:02:31 AM

Previous topic Next topic

gaddy 1

hi i'm  wanting to put rack n pinon on my 70 challenger i'm a machinist by trade and fabicator ,my question is what rack n pinon from another car will work

Brads70

I've done some investigating on this. You would need a rack with a 26.420" pivots , custom racks are available. Common, Mustang based racks use 24.250"  There are parts available to lengthen the pivot points . https://www.summitracing.com/parts/hdt-mp-039-4. I was considering this and shortening it?
Bigger issue is the stock steering arms won't work. What's needed is a custom steering arm that uses a screw in ball joint with the steering arms corrected for use with a rack. Or a different spindle set up altogether. Or make a custom k-frame with the corrected geometry. Not impossible to do but a ton of work to make right as it needs to work with the fixed upper control arm mounts.
Mopars can be made to handle quite well using the stock design.  :alan2cents:
I was gathering parts to build my own k-frame  but gave up on it when after using aftermarket parts based on the stock design I was able to get my car handling much better than stock.
I'm now using the flaming river rack I bought in my Javelin project.
Bumpsteer and the rear track width bigger than the front are E-Bodies biggest issues IMO. too soft spring rates and sway bars are easily addressed with aftermarket suppliers.   

Chryco Psycho

Welcome to the site BTW
I agree you can go a long way with the stock design & upgraded parts , R&P are not easy to set up correctly in an E body .

1 Wild R/T

And don't get sucked in to buying the poorly engineered bolt in rack kit from Unisteer...

MoparLeo

Remember that a R & P is just part of the front steering/suspension system. Change one thing, 2 more problems crop up.