Main Menu

Numbers Matching vs Non-Numbers vs Gen III Swap - Now and in Future

Started by 303 Mopar, March 22, 2018, 09:25:39 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Katfish

How many people want an all original 57 Chevy?
How many people want an all original Model T..........

RUNCHARGER

I like the cars that appear to be original the most. For me the ultimate is an original Hemi Cuda or Hemi Challenger. I really do not find the new stuff attractive either, those new engines are pretty ugly.  Also I really appreciate the original suspension engineering in these cars.
For me a modified car involves updated Torsion bar suspension and a fuel injected 426 based Hemi. That way you get the looks and modern performance.
A problem with modified cars is that they go out of style about every 5 years as well, Modified styles come and go,
Sheldon

Mickm

This is a very great topic. The old car hobby is all about individuality. I like the 71 Cuda's but the car I wanted when I graduated high school was the new 1972 model. Therefore, I am drawn to that year more.

As for original vs modified. I have always been drawn to old cars simply because they have personality! I have no idea what any SUV made today looks like, one compared to another,  they all look the same.......bland with no personality.

Therefore, I like to retain a largely original style look on the outside. But being an engineer, makes me want to modify the suspension, electronics, gauges etc for a more pleasing ride as well as better reliability.

While I like the original hemi's, the 5-7 mpg isn't good on my pocket book. The new hemi's look like a duck out of water to me so I opt to update the original 340 with efi and the 727 with an Overdrive. This way everything like it is where it belongs.