Main Menu

Refinishing dash

Started by ledphoot, February 21, 2019, 12:16:10 AM

Previous topic Next topic

ledphoot

So I am digging In to the interior and got the dash out. It looks like shit and need a complete refinish. I am considering having it powder coated, has anybody done this? Any ideas on the proper color? Matte black / shadow black? Any tips?

70 Challenger Lover

Cody has a video on steering column rebuilding which includes painting the texture black finish for columns and dash frames. It is sort of a satin black but there is texture to it that he explains how to do.

Djdimart64

I am relatively new to the refinishing part, but I don't think all years have the textured finish. I'll check my body FSM to find the correct color but that may only apply to 1973 models.

HP2

Working on my dash and found Ace brand satin black spray paint to be an almost perfect match. While rattle can paint is not as durable as a mix with hardener, it does significantly improve the look of the plastic parts I'm using it on.  With a good scrubbing and a pre-paint wipe down with acetone, I've had pretty good luck with adhesion and durability.

70/6chall

I'm with HP2 the rattle can Satin black from Ace seems to be spot on.If your interested in something that looks good but don't want to go to the trouble of anything more durable this will work. But remember prep the surface well, this is the key to success in any top coat. I also use something called Auto Prep Sol, I picked up from an Auto paint supplier.  Thanks,   Al

anlauto

I don't know if you can achieve the "factory look" with powder coat ? :thinking:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

Shane Kelley

Quote from: anlauto on February 21, 2019, 10:40:33 AM
I don't know if you can achieve the "factory look" with powder coat ? :thinking: