Main Menu

Did you say goodbye to the 70's wiring??

Started by Caparco, May 01, 2020, 07:17:40 PM

Previous topic Next topic

RUNCHARGER

My old boss wouldn't sell Painless, he preferred American Autowire. Way less problems. I am dealing with a Painless right now on a kit car and I have to say the instructions etc. don't really make a lot of sense.
Sheldon

70rag383

Quote from: Chryco Psycho on August 27, 2020, 09:42:26 PM
I have to agree , I have installed about 8 of the aftermarket wiring systems , probably more , Painless is just the name !!

Hi Chryco, I'm about to do the ammeter bypass with an 8 gauge wire from the alternator to the starter relay.  Most of the info I read on this topic says you need a fusible link (in my case it would need a 12 gauge wire spliced to the 8 gauge wire)  at the starter relay end. I'm not an electrical engineer so I'm looking to understand the pros and cons of including the fusible link. Thanks!

7212Mopar

You can use a high amperage fuse instead.
1973 Challenger Rallye, 416 AT
2012 Challenger SRT8 6 speed Yellow Jacket

70rag383

I think Chryco was advising that no fusing is needed at all since there is 12v coming from both ends? 

What size fuse would you advise? alternator max output is 90amps, I think.

crackedback

If you don't put some form of protection in the wire around from alternator to starter relay, the OEM fusible links in the car are worthless.  The way I build them there is always something in that wire around cable to protect the system.

I suggest doing things different from the Mad approach.  Put the wire around in place, bypass ammeter and leave the rest of the OEM wiring in place if the bulkhead/wiring is in good shape.  I prefer to not cut up the OEM harness.   

https://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/threads/charging-system-wire-around-6-or-8ga.460372/

Lots of ways to skin a cat.

70rag383

Quote from: crackedback on August 28, 2020, 12:02:29 PM