Main Menu

Bad ALT gauge??

Started by JunkYardFind, March 07, 2021, 01:19:11 PM

Previous topic Next topic

JunkYardFind

My ALT gauge was not working (only showing a neg charge even though the alt was charging fine) I have just pulled the gauge out of the assembly and there is not much to it. It looks perfect, no sign of....anything, looks new! What could make the gauge not work? I guess trace the wiring and maybe it was disconnected somewhere down the line? Not sure where to go from here.

www.JunkYardFind.com What's In YOUR Garage ?

JunkYardFind

Also, I have limited electrical experience so this is likely a dumb question....
Now that I have the ALT gauge off, how do I bench test it?
Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

70Barracuda

Hook the two wires together on one terminal.  Look at the size of those wires,  All your power is going through that gauge.  Others will say a similar thing.  Its a fire hazard
Sniper, 493/383, Firmfeel, RMS Streetlynx, Speedhut. Dana, 4 gear.

JunkYardFind

Quote from: 70Barracuda on March 07, 2021, 02:58:29 PM
Hook the two wires together on one terminal.  Look at the size of those wires,  All your power is going through that gauge.  Others will say a similar thing.  Its a fire hazard

@70Barracuda
Yep, just been reading about this! So that means the ALT gauge is useless.
Lets move on to how to fit an aftermarket Volt gauge.

I would start by removing the ALT gauge wires and splicing them together thusly bypassing the old ALT gauge.
I can now use the old ALT gauge, tear it apart and make an aftermarket volt gauge fit within the slot.
Where would I hook the the aftermarket Volt gauge to? I am thinking Pos to switched fuse, and Neg all the way to the Battery neg terminal. Please correct me if I am wrong.
Lastly, any ideas on where to get a small volt meter that would fit (with obvious modifications) into the ALT gauge housing.

70Barracuda