Main Menu

My A518 overhaul

Started by chargerdon, November 04, 2019, 04:05:40 PM

Previous topic Next topic

chargerdon

I had picked up a 92 A518 transmission to put into my 74 Challenger with 360La stroked to 409 engine about 4 years ago.  It sat in my garage for those 4 years and who knows how long it had sat before i bought it.  So, since its a lot of work to install decided to do the smart thing and do a "soft seal and clutch" overhaul before putting it in. 

So far i bought an overhaul kit off of Ebay (A518 46RE 47RE 46RH Raybestos Performance Transmission Rebuild Kit 90-97 Gas from transdeals4u) that has "heavy duty" raybestos clutch frictions and steels.    I previously had overhauled my 904 and it runs good, but, i can tell the clutches are beginning to slip in WOT runs..   I guess too much power for it.  So i have some experience. 

In addition i also bough the TSG A518 book to use as a guide since my 74 Shop Manual doesn't cover A518's.   To my dismay i find it a near useless book (cost me $28) as it does not give a logical tear down and rebuild steps.   It does have specs for torquing and tolerances, but, not worth it. 

As my guide (dont laugh...its great) i did Youtube search for A518 Rebuilds.   

Found two threads...one called A518 transmission by TSG which has 4 parts.   Its ok, but the guy spends way too much time describing the differences between the A500 and A518 and the RH vs RE styles.   He also glosses over the actual tear down and rebuild steps too fast and leaves some steps out.   Also, he spends wastes too much time showing you how to measure the drums and such to know which uses a 3, 4, 5, or 6 frictions depending on model.   (whats wrong with simply counting the ones in each clutch pack??  )