Main Menu

Headers and exhaust size

Started by nsmall, May 13, 2017, 05:05:51 PM

Previous topic Next topic

nsmall

I have 1973 exhaust manifolds and I am considering putting on some TTI headers.

A concern I have is that my exhaust system is all new (seems vain to replace it) but unfortunately it's pretty small.  It looks like it's 2.25 inches all the way down except under the trunk it's only about 2 inches.

So my main question is....is this a waste of time/money to put headers on to my existing exhaust which is hard for me to want to replace as it's new?  I'm looking for the 340 to breathe better as it does seem a little congested.  Basically I want some more performance as the engine is out....seems like a good time to make the change.

Lastly does anyone know if I'll have to get a mini starter or is there a way to get a good set of headers in there with a stock starter as my starter is new.

Thanks

usraptor

While I'm not an expert, I would think a header system and X or H  pipe would greatly improve your performance even with the 2.5 inch exhaust.   With a 340 unless it is very highly modified a 2.5 or even 2 inch exhaust system should be more than adequate.  :alan2cents:
Maybe Chryco or others with more experience at engine building will chime in on this. 

nsmall

@Chryco Psycho

Please chime in sir.

I have a H pipe in.  I want more flow.  The engine is modified, nothing radical, but definitely not stock.

This has been something I've been debating for two years.

Another question....Do headers really add that much heat in the cabin? 

Thanks

Chryco Psycho

The term is velocity ,I bet right now you get a fair amount of fast moving exhaust  exiting the tips ?
This is a good thing as it will create a vacuum behind it which helps pull more exhaust out quickly .