Main Menu

How To Bleed Brakes

Started by 1970GranCoupeConvert, September 27, 2021, 06:51:42 PM

Previous topic Next topic

1970GranCoupeConvert

Hey there,

Looking for some advice/tips/tricks/good vibes...

I am new to power brake booster brake bleeding.

I just converted from a manual master cylinder front disc/rear drum to power brakes.  The Master Cylinder is new as is the single part proportioning valve (it does not have the secondary rear wheel anti-lockup valve) and the front disc and rear drums are original.

I have already bench bled the MC by putting it in a vice and had the hoses routed up and dipped into the reservoir and pumped it until the bubbles stopped then installed it on the booster and connected up the prop valve and pipes and then pushed the brake pedal down by hand a few times.

Using a Mighty Vac I connected it up to the right side rear wheel and pumped away and cracked open the bleeder screw and only a very small amount of fluid came out but it never started to flow like it should. 

The reservoir is still mostly full so I am not getting any significant flow.

Am I missing something?

I have heard that the MC might have an internal valve or seal that can be damaged if I do the usual "pump five times and hold the pedal on the floor" routine.

Any advice is appreciated!!!

DeathProofCuda

There are many ways to skin the brake bleeding cat.  I've tried some, but I'm sure not all of them, but for me the standard method of holding the pedal down and cracking the bleeder still seems to work the best. I would give that a shot before looking for other problems.  If I don't have a helper around, I place a 2x6 flat against the front of my seat, then wedge an appropriately sized 2x4 between the brake pedal and the 2x6 to keep the pedal held down.  Takes a while, but its not too terrible of a way to spend an evening in the garage while listening to tunes and drinking beer.