Main Menu

70 Challenger Hellcat Killer

Started by mauls, May 26, 2020, 09:16:29 AM

Previous topic Next topic

mauls

Hey guys, figured i'd post my restoration progress here.  Long story short, resto modding a 70 slant 6 challenger with a modern gen 3 hemi with a whipple super charger all said in done, to well, beat myself in my 16 hellcat.  I'm going to somewhat clone these cars, but my goal is to keep as much as the interior as stock as possible.

My goal is to do as much work as myself. I'm an engine builder so many of these aspects are new to me, so I may have some dumb questions for some of you experts.  Plan is to leave the paint and interior up to the pro's and do the rest my self.  I'll post a pic of the car when I first got it, and how it sits now (5/26/20), then put some progress pics in the rest of the posts with details.

Let me know if you have any questions!

mauls

Day 1, first pulling it out of the old home and getting it to my garage.

Not sure why there's extra holes in the drivers side door?  Maybe they tried to mount an aftermarket side mirror... who knows.

Chryco Psycho

Awesome , looks like it was purple at some point in its life !!

mauls

It was B5 with White seats and blue interior panels.  The lighting looks weird in one of those pics haha

oldmoparbuff

mauls

Test fitting the new tires on the rear and pulled out this 7 1/4 rear end

315/35/18's mocked up

Will need to go with the leaf spring relocation kit

mauls

Took the car up to get the underside media blasted, it came out great.  Dropped the entire rear end and suspension components, primed and painted it.  Going with a Matte Pearl White to match the 16 challenger.

mauls

Did some research and found the closest wheels I could to match my hellcat brass monkey wheels.  Unfortunately they do not make any replica's in 18's so these are pretty close!

18x9 up front- 275/40-18 Nitto NT05's and 18x10 wheels in the rear with 315/35-18 Nitto NTORr's

mauls