Main Menu

Metal replacement..... Looking for advice

Started by xx88man, June 13, 2018, 07:33:44 PM

Previous topic Next topic

xx88man

I am a complete rookie. I have NEVER done metal replacement so I need advice. Some areas my car needs help is around the front windshield and the panels in front of where the doors mount on. I am including a couple pictures. What are these panels called and are there replacements out there or do I need to fabricate them? My biggest question....do I need to have the body sitting on a frame table in order to replace these? Any help from people that have done it would be great. Thanks

Keep yer foot in it

jimynick

They're usually referred to as hinge pillars and yes, they are re-popped. They are 2 piece and the trick comes in as they are sandwiched in with the A pillar and upper cowl. I changed both mine- inr and otr, but had the firewall out and the fndr inr aprons out as well. Mopar Dave is a member here and is also the manager of Roseville Chrysler's restoration parts and offers a discount to members here. Yours are not nearly the worst ones I've seen and the quicker and (hopefully) easier method may be to buy the outer section and splice in where the rotted area is if you were unable to make, fit and weld in patches otherwise. Write this on the back of your hand- measure 3 times and cut once. You'll find that comes in pretty handy as you go. Good luck!  :wave:
In the immortal words of Jimmy Scott- "pace yourself!"

Cuda70-74

That's a easy patch panel and you can go 2 ways to fix it. One way is to buy the repo part and cut the section u need out of it or you can make it out of scrape metal that will help u build up ur fabrication skills.
1969 mustang
1974 cuda turnt into a 71 cuda
1968 charger

RUNCHARGER

Yup: I think I'd patch it as well. That piece would be relatively easy to make a weld in as long as the metal near that circle is okay.
Sheldon

xx88man