Main Menu

Setting initial ignition timing

Started by Mr Lee, July 07, 2020, 06:44:04 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Mr Lee

Ok, so I'm a newbie to understanding ignition timing.  Have read a few articles and have a basic understanding and looking to learn more so I can tune my motor.
I have a freshly rebuilt 383 Magnum in my '70 Challenger. Bored .030 over, mild cam, but otherwise a stock rebuild.  Pertronix ignitor electronic distributor conversion.

So my question is, how do i know where to set my initial timing?  I understand I'm supposed to disconnect the vacuum tube from the distributor to check initial.  Do I need to plug the vacuum line, or cover the inlet on the distributor when setting initial timing?

Before I get into mechanical and vacuum advance, any tips on where to start with initial?  Do I go by sound and feel?  I'm at 13 now and it seems to want a little more.  How much is too much?
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Remember, wherever you go, there you are.

Chryco Psycho

I hope you have a timing light , but I threw mine out years ago .
Basically the most important setting is the timing at 3000 RPM so bring the engine up to that rpm area & adjust the timing , you can hear by ear where it runs best . So advance the timing until the RPM quits rising then turn it back where it just starts to drop RPM again , you can put a light on it & see where it is , now do the same thing at idle , advance the timing at idle to where it runs best , so these are the 2 most important settings . Now the the advance curve needs to be adjusted so you have the same initial & total timing curve .
I Never use vacuum advance , Ever .

Mr Lee

Quote from: Chryco Psycho on July 07, 2020, 06:57:50 PM
I hope you have a timing light , but I threw mine out years ago .