Main Menu

Sheet metal replacement intimidations. Share your experience!

Started by Filthy Filbert, August 18, 2021, 07:11:08 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Filthy Filbert

Just bought AMD metal from stephen's at the mopar nats last week.    Firewall, cowl, front/rear floor pans, A-pillars...   I have previously bought a roof skin and still have the passenger side quarter to hang. 

Part of my delay in this project has been life, moves, job changes, career changes, etc.   Part of it has also been my complete lack of experience.    I can build engines, suspensions, design and fabricate custom brakes, swap in after market transmissions, etc.    But I have ZERO experience with body work. 

It's a bit intimidating to think about...   so, how many others tackled the sheet metal work themselves starting out with zero experience?   Tell me your stories, suggestions, tips and tricks learned along the way, etc.

I hope to be cutting rusty metal out very soon.   Need to get the Dakota off jackstands first, as the T56 is getting rebuilt.

dodj

Quote from: Filthy Filbert on August 18, 2021, 07:11:08 AM
  so, how many others tackled the sheet metal work themselves starting out with zero experience?
I did back in the mid 80's. I did ok, the car is still holding together..lol But I did lots of things the 'incorrect' way..... ::)
But if a resource like this website existed back then, I would have been able to do a much better job. Just peruse the 'restoration' threads. One that comes to mind is Dmod's thread. Check out what he did. LOTS of metal work there.
"There is nothing your government can give you that it hasn't already taken from you in the first place" -Winston Churchill

Dmod1974